The length of the working week does not reflect modern lifestyle needs. It should be substantially reduced to give people more leisure time and time with their families.

How far do you agree with this statement?

In this contemporary era, due to the long working hours, it is impossible for professionals to meet their day-to-day needs. Job hours should be dramatically lessened so that white-collared people would get some time to spend their time with families or other rejuvenating activities. This essay will vehemently espouse the above statement because this act will create a room for relaxation and strengthening the relationship with the family. This essay will further discuss the above points in detail in the subsequent paragraphs.

It is apparent that the more hours someone works, the less time they will have to spend with their family. As the employees spend the most efficient and energetic hours of the day at the workplace, this increases the stress level of them. As a result, workers struggle to take time off for personal or family needs and the work-life conflicts arise much more frequently in the family. To exemplify, The University of Texas performed a study in December 2019 on the effects of work. The results found that 38% work too much, 46% never had time to spend time with their family. Therefore, spending quality time with families would especially become a demanding task.

Another reason is that consecutive periods of working straight shifts, lack of breaks during the day, and consecutive days of working without a day off may lead to less time for exercise or entertainment activities. Owing to this fact, the employees may experience long term ailments like obesity, hypertension, nervous breakdown etc. For example, The University of Aukland Health Science had tried to study the link between overtime and the increased risk of cardiovascular disorder. Their research has an output which showed that people who worked at least 10 years for each additional hour worked, starting from the 46th hour, his or her risk of a CVD increased by 1%. Hence, the employees should be encouraged to enjoy leisure activities to eradicate the adverse health issues resulted from less available time.

In conclusion, it is being anticipated that long working hours have numerous effects on workers family, due to which a dent in relationships and attack on the health by different diseases shall be clearly seen. Therefore it is hoped that current working hours should be significantly reduced.