Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that.

Do you agree with this opinion?

There is an opinion that medical treatment should not to be free of charge without any distinction because individuals have to be responsible for their physical conditions. I totally disagree with this idea; in fact, I think the exact opposite that everyone despite their income should have free medical support.

First, if a health service was on a paying basis for every person without taking into account their earnings, it would lead to low-income group stays without decent medical help. It is obvious that consequently death rates would increase due to lack of medical service. However, it is important that every citizen has equal opportunities and rights; including the right to free health care system. This is because every working person pays taxes and the government in turn should provide free medical support at the moment of need. Otherwise, people paying enormous money for medical services may literally lose everything. For example, I have seen a shortage of modern homeless people in America, and surprisingly, there are plenty of professionals among them. The only reason why they ended up on the streets is enormous medical bills.

In addition, it is fair to put full responsibility for the health of a person because physical health depends on many factors such as the environment. In this case, authorities and industries should be held accountable for the public health and level of pollution, which plays a significant role in the state of public health. To illustrate, there is an oil refining plant in Atyrau city and due to emissions from the plant, many citizens have breathing-related problems.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that people should pay for medicine by themselves. I do believe that it is the government’s obligation to provide free medical services for its citizens.