Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people believe that the fast-food industry has a harmful influence on the environment, dietary habits, and the climate in a family. I completely agree with this notion as the habit to eat ready-to-eat food disrupts human behavior and is harmful to their health.

First of all and most important that consuming a large amount of fast food, people are significantly damaging their health due to the fact that convenience food is high in saturated fat, sugar, and salt and lacks healthy nutrients. In addition, this kind of food is highly addictive and humans tend to overeat it as they cannot cube their appetite and consume more and more junk food. Consequently, unhealthy dietary pattern leads to increasing related to it diseases such as obesity, heart attacks, severe skin issues, diabetes, different kinds of allergy.

Secondly, families no longer gather at home and cook or have dinner together. They tend to order some prepackaged food and eat it from the box watching TV without communicating with each other. Meanwhile, in the past whole family was sitting around the table eating delicious and healthy home-cooked food and discussed what had everyone been up to. For example, when I came back from school I would always find a meal that my mother cooked for our family and I felt that everyone cares about each other. However, today we have lost that feeling of unity, and one of the reasons for it is that we do not have the tradition of eating at home anymore.

In terms of the environment, the fast-food sector of the economy produces a huge amount of waste such as plastic wrappers, packages, plates, and mugs. Even usage of one-use paper containers leads to excessive cutting of trees and finally deforestation.

In conclusion, I totally agree recent growth of the fast-food industry has undesirable consequences, such as switching to an unhealthy diet, environmental issues, and lack of family communication.