Many people spend a lot of money on clothes, haircuts, and beauty products to enhance their appearance. Some people think that it is a good way to spend money, while others think that there is a better way to spend it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, plenty of people tend to spend a large part of their budget on beauty salons, cosmetics and fashion in chase of perfection. Thus, there is an opinion that it is the preferable way to deal with finances. Meanwhile, some people argue that there are better options for wasting money. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter.

First, some people assume that person’s appearance is very important for a successful life in modern reality that is why investing money in it might be considered a valuable asset. Especially this is true for women due to the fact that society still pushes them to get married at an early age and in spite of body positive movement there are still high beauty standards and pressure from the masses on how somebody should look like. For example, people would treat them with more respect if someone was wearing an expensive suit, a brand wristwatch and had a fresh modern haircut.

However, on another side of the argument are those who believe that there are much more important areas of our lives that needed properly funded. The supporters of this point of view might argue that spending money on the beauty industry will not bring any happiness to a person who is doing it. However, investing money in charity, travel and social projects will bring a personal sense of fulfilment and satisfaction. For instance, one of my friends in chase of beauty and trying pleased surrounding people used to waste loads of money on cloth and different cosmetic procedures. However, she stayed unhappy until the moment she started to support a local dog’s shelter.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that taking care of someone’s appearance is a good way of spending money, meanwhile, it should not become an obsession and a person should not forget there are other aspects of life. In the end, love, compassion, friendship and mutual help are more important than somebody’s look.