Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer

Skill learning at an early age plays an inevitable role in the progression of a child. Although, reading has been considered to be effective in acquiring skills, other activities can be far more beneficial. I am a strong advocate of this approach and will discuss the reasons behind this along with the relevant examples before coming to a conclusion.

The one key reason of this approach is that playing fun games helps in skill development of youngsters wherein they learn analytical skills better as compared to reading which is an arduous task for them since most preschoolers are reluctant readers. For instance, a recent study by the Hindustan Times showed significant improvement in the proportion of preschoolers in acquiring skills through educational games and playthings than reading books. Furthermore,exposure to fun activities related to drawing and paintings enhances the creativity and thinking ability of a child where they use their logical thinking and imaginative power which in turn would be beneficial in future perspective of life.

In an addendum to this, being active in playing games which are collaborative in nature assist them in gaining skills and confidence. Most importantly , games performed in groups tend to imbibe team building skills in a child which can be applicable in the upcoming years of life. To cite an example, a survey demonstrated the improving efficiency of children who played games in a group at an early age are better at performing outdoor sports involving coordination and teamwork in school competitions.

To conclude, reading should be incorporated in developing kids only if they are interested but preference should be given to other activities that are tempted by youngsters.