Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

In many nations, with the immense progress of supermarkets, many local vendors are facing huge difficulties to sustain. Many people are of the opinion that this (unhealthy competition) will lead to an extinct of small shops and entrepreneurs. While it may be true that the local businesses have come down(succumbed) due to increasing concept of supermarkets, in my opinion they can very well cope with such big markets by working on innovative expansion and adopting unique business strategies.

Supermarkets have risen(mushroomed) tremendously. They are planned in such a beautiful(an alluring,ravishing,stunning,appealing,delightful,smashing) way that the customer is able to fulfil all his daily requirements from one stop. Hence, it lures more customers to visit supermarkets for their purchase rather than spending more time and energy visiting three or four small shops for every other item.for example, Big Bazaar gaining so much popularity these days is exemplary to this fact. In fact, it is over-crowded every weekend.

Local vendors can be in the competition by making some smart changes to their business strategies. If they adhere to the traditional ways of entrepreneurship, their fall is inevitable. They can increase popularity by giving cheaper products as well as providing free home-delivery services. Multiple local vendors can tie up together and function like a supermarket to spread their business reach. A very clear example of this is innovation vegetable sellers who have exploited social media well to expand their network in their local areas.

To conclude, with the rapid growth of supermarket, local entrepreneur does have to take some fresh initiatives to prosper in the business. Any shopkeeper willing to make few changes in the way he does business can survive the threat of supermarkets.