Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the expansion of supermarkets in some countries would result in the closure of local business and hence result in the death of local communities. In the following contemplation I would discuss that why I totally agree with this viewpoint.

Consumer convenience, time and money saving are the factors that would result in thriving of supermarkets and reduction of local business. The local communities survive on the money they gain from selling goods in their vicinity. Expansion of supermarkets would increase the likelihood of people flooding these places on weekends. Since people nowadays only get weekends for grocery shopping so they would definitely prefer to buy everything under one roof. Employees and working ladies would prefer supermarkets as they do not need to waste their precious time to buy from different small shops. For instance, research states that the sales of local business drastically decreases when supermarkets are established in small towns. This would result in the loss of livelihood of local communities who might migrate to metropolitan cities for earning money.

On the contrary, others argue that the expansion of supermarkets would result in increasing jobs and ease of shopping experience for the local communities. However, I believe that millions of jobs would be lost due to expansion of supermarkets. Since, local business are mostly dependent on artisans and require manual labor therefore thousands of people of the dependent of these skills would loose their jobs. For example, a boutique employees thousands of staff members who are skilled in embroidery, stitching, cutting etc. Such skilled workers would automatically loose jobs as the factory made clothes would be available in cheap prices in supermarkets.

In conclusion, I reiterate that expansion of supermarkets would result in loosing the source of income of local communities. The local communities would need to migrate to bigger cities in search of jobs. Millions of small businesses would permanently die and would ultimately result in the death of local communities.