Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption while others think that it is individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been proved that sugar has a detrimental effect on the body and one should not consume sugar in excess. People vary in opinion about who should be responsible for controlling the consumption of sugar. A section of the society believes that the Governing body should have the responsibility to check on sugar consumption; while, some people believe that it should be controlled by individual efforts. However, I strongly support the former group as the Government has a wider scope of limiting the sugar in the country and has the authorization to make it difficult for individuals to consume it in excess.

To begin with, the government has full authority to control sugar utilization in the country. In other words, being an administrative body, he can pass the laws such that people may find difficulty on purchasing sugar in the market. This can be done by increasing tax on sugar production. Admittedly, due to the high price on sugary items, everyone would not find such items affordable and would look for other options. Unequivocally, a high tax would result in sugar production and a hike in sugar prices which would make it a less attractive choice among the people to buy and eat. Consequently, sugar consumption would decrease gradually in the population.

Another reason for making the government responsible for sugar consumption is because he has wider access to the country's population. The administrative department can bring awareness among the people more effectively as their advertisements or campaign reaches all the citizens across the country. In this way, higher authorities can make them aware of health hazards due to the over-consumption of sugar. For example, diseases like obesity and diabetes are caused due to excess sugar in the body.

However, there are people who see this situation differently and consider that instead of framing the government to have the responsibility of sugar consumption, individuals themselves should understand the harmful effect of eating too much sugary food. They believe that if the person cannot control his urge to eat the sugar then he will even buy it at an expensive price. Thus, self-control is must and this can be done by an individual himself and not the government.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that the government of the country is the prime body that can keep the check on sugar consumption in the country by making it less available in the market and running awareness programmes. Although the individual can control his sugar consumption by self-control, it is not possible for everyone to do this. Therefore, the best way to do this is by making the government responsible for limiting sugar control in the market.