Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

Many schools have adopted uniform policy for their students, making it mandatory to follow; however, few schools still believe in allowing the students in any dress they wear. In my opinion, the benefits of having school uniform far-weigh its disadvantages.

To begin with, the foremost reason I believe for having uniform is it indicates unity and uniformity among the students. The children from all background can be seen in same type of dress, which does not lead to any problem of separation based on financial status or caste and creed. For instance, the wealthy society can send their children in designer garments but the destitute cannot; this may create the feeling of inferiority in poor students, which is not good for their overall development. Secondly, it saves time and money for choosing and getting ready on daily basis. Undoubtedly, in case of uniform, the student has to just select the same pair and get ready without bothering about the style, color, pattern or matching accessories, giving silent message that academics is students' first priority. When students are given chance to dress as per their choice then most of them would be interested in fashion and appearance rather than paying attention on education, which is the essential element for building their career and the prime reason for going school. Apart from this, the other reason that supports uniform culture is that if the child is lost then uniform stands as an identity, keeping the child safe to reach the school. Therefore, in every case school uniform is good for school-going children.

Despite the above pros, the critics argue that school uniform has adverse effect on creativity of child. Knowing the dress code would limit the student's imagination; if no uniform then only he would think of different shades and combination that makes him look trendy. Moreover, they believe that such imaginative thinking is required for student's making career in fashion and design industry. Thus, it is great loss for such people.

To sum up, I pen down saying, there are more merits of having school has uniform. The children learn uniformity and saves time in dressing, paying more attention to the curriculum. In addition, uniform helps in security of child, thereby making uniform as mandatory option for school students. Although some opponents argue that it hampers the creativity, but the child has to wear uniform only during school hours; they can show their creativity in remaining time. Thus, in all cases, the uniform should exists for students.