Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people sugar consumption, while others think that it is individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Excessive intake of sugar is injurious to health. People’s opinion differ as whether legislative bodies should curb usage of sugar as health is the people is of paramount concern for future of nation or people themselves are responsible for their daily dietary needs. This essay will discuss both viewpoints in detail.

To start with, government established food and drug authorities whose prime motive is to check quality of food supplied to public. It is ought to be the legislative bodies responsibility to audit the eatables, their manufacturing process and contents well before it is offered to the general public in order to make sure that health will not compromised. Evidently, in early 2019, Punjab food authorities of Pakistan have taken various measures and banned multiple products such as famous ice cream named Gourmet ice cream, united biscuits and many more. The underlying reason was high amount of sugar content in these products. Admittedly, healthy people develop healthy nation. Therefore, the approach that authorities should be liable for people’s consumption of sugar is reasonable.

On the contrary, the concern that individuals are responsible for their sugar intake is not preposterous because deleterious effects of over consumption of sugar are directly affecting the individual’s health. Undoubtedly, government has to combat macro issues such as poverty, illiteracy and infrastructure. Hence, it is impractical for government to control huge population from adverse effects of over consumption of sugar. Hence, individuals must have to check their daily intake so they can remain healthy not only for their own selves but for their families also. In china, group of people started awareness campaigns for people, their multiple initiatives motivate people and presently one quarter of the population is practicing the sugar control dietary routine. According to the statistics, ration of diabetic people is decreasing drastically. Hence, it is agreed that people are responsible for their own health and must be responsible for daily consumption of sugar.

To conclude, over consumption of sugar is hazardous to health. In my opinion, the responsibility to control sugar intake is solely dependent on the individual considering the fact ill health will primarily impact them and their families and later these repercussions will be faced by nation.