Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Few people hold this opinion that living in an apartment is more beneficial, but there is also other side of this argument where people like to stay in their separate homes. I believe that the advantages of living in an apartment outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, this essay will highlight several disadvantages of living in a private home. Secondly, I will also discuss some advantages of living in a house. Both benefits and drawbacks of a house will be addressed in comparison with the life of apartment.

Living a life in a separate house does have downsides. These days majority of people to live their life, solely depend on jobs, and saving enough money so that individual can afford a house is not that simple. The worth of houses are going up day by day and a very few people can manage to live separately. For instance, in Pakistan the price of normal single level house ranges from PKR 20 million to PKR 25 million, whereas the salary of an average employee is between PKR 80000 to PKR 100,000. So in this salary bearing all household expenses and saving enough money to buy a house is impossible. Moreover, if we compare the system of apartment we will see that there is a private security system in all apartment and all the residents of an apartment contribute to pay for this security system; however, in case of a house there is no security system, unless the is willing to pay for it, which will be an extra cost on his pocket. There are some other facilities in apartment life, for instance, play area for kids and swimming pool facility which is usually not available in a house. Furthermore, in an apartment usually the community is responsible for all kind of maintenance services and cleaning but in house these are also responsibilities of an individual living there.

Despite the above arguments, there are certain benefits of living in a house. People like to have their own privacy, which is only possible in a house. In addition to this, an individual can have his own parking space and can also open a private garage if the person is a car enthusiast. There is no need to take elevators or stairs to reach your room; this is a real problem for old people in apartments. In house, the responsible for the maintenance and overhauling of equipment; he does not need to wait for the community to solve it, he will resolve all issues as per his convenient.

In conclusion, it can be inferred that disadvantages of living in a house outweigh the advantages, due to the above mentioned arguments. I strongly prefer to live in an apartment.