Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people sugar consumption, while others think that it is individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The consumption of sugar is quite a topic of debate among many people. It is often argued that the excessive intake of sugar should be controlled by government authorities, whereas others believe that the sugar consumption in daily diet should be regulated at personal level. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and will explain why governments' efforts are more imperative.

There are certain valid reasons due to which people tend to believe that higher authorities are responsible for reducing the use of sugar. Firstly, governments can impose heavy taxes on sugary items that might lead to reducing the sale of those products. In Australia, for instance, it has been seen that after increasing the taxes on such products, people start avoiding those products. Secondly, governments can arrange awareness campaigns to educate public about the ill effects of sugar. A good illustration for this is that many people have been influenced by governments social media campaigns and have declined the use of sugar in their everyday food. Due to aforementioned reasons people have opinion that governments can take preventive measures to control sugar in daily use.

On the contrary, it is said that regulation of sugar intake in diet is feasible at an individual level. Every person has his own metabolic rate and knows his limitations about how to control the sugar level. For example, a person who consumes higher sugar can look after the sugar concentration in the body by doing regular exercises. In addition to this, by changing routine diet plan and strict check on sugar intake, various diseases can be avoided. Hence, with the help of exercise and disciplined diet, sugar level in the body can be regulated.

In conclusion, although sugar level can be controlled by proper workout and limited use of sweet products, I strongly believe that the legislative powers can play a pivotal role in reducing the intake of sugar by levying heavy taxes and awareness campaigns.