Nowadays, the traditions and customs relating to the food we eat and the way we eat are changing. Why is this happening? Do you think this kind of change is positive or negative?

Food is one of the most important parts of our lives. Eating habits and food choices, these days, are varying significantly. This essay will discuss a few reasons for this change before explaining how this is positive change.

To begin with, one of the most evident reasons for this change is globalization. People travel from country to country and almost every type of culture is present somewhere in any country. When they travel overseas, they observe food habits of the host country’s people and their choices. Sometimes the travelers find their dishes delicious and bring the recipe to their home country. For example, Pizza, which is an Italian dish, was not famous in India before 2000; however, the first Pizza outlet was opened in early 2001. After that people opted for this type of food and many prefer if over their traditional dishes, such as Biryani. In addition, the internet and television have also played a pivotal role in this change. People can get access to the ingredients of any food item around the world. There are numerous channels broadcasting different cooking shows, where experts from all over the world make new recipe for their audiences.

This is, indeed, a positive change for every person because food is the fundamental need of human being, and everyone wants a variety in it. It is the nature of a person that after eating same dish several times, a change is required or some type of innovation in it is a must. However, because of multicultural cuisines, people can keep trying disparate kinds of food and enjoy it.

In summary, people’s dietary habits have changed significantly over the past few decades. This change is because of people traveling overseas, digital and electronic media programs. I believe that this change is completely positive as it provides food diversity to people. Also, it is predicted that it will further increase in the future.