Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people say it leads to environment damage and should be stopped. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Economic upswing plays an vital role in the people’s growth. Although economic growth is the way to fight with poverty, some people advocate against this growth because they believe this may lead to exploitation of environment. I strongly agree that the growing economy exploits the environment.

There are several reasons as to why economic growth should be deterred. Firstly, environment is deteriorating because of industrialization. As the more forest land is being utilized for setting up industrial units, the green areas are depleting. Secondly, the water bodies are being adulterated because most of the factories do not use proper treatment plants to remove chemicals from water. For example, The Ganga as well as other rivers in India are polluted by the various manufacturing units.

Furthermore, since most of these industries solely depends on the fossil fuels, we may run out of these in near future. For example, in recent surveys it has been concluded that, if we keep on consuming these resources, will deplete all the resources within 20 years.

On the other hand, economic revitalization is the only way to help impoverished individuals. Therefore, government bodies should promote renewable energy resources and subsidies should be provided to industries for utilizing green energy resources more efficiently.

In conclusion, I agree that the economic growth have the detrimental effects on environment. However, replacing conventional energy resources may help to mitigate damage caused to environment.