Some people think that schools are merely turning children into good citizens and workers, rather than benefitting them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued by some individuals that instead of benefitting students at individual level, schools are making them good member of the society and professional. I,however, disagree with this view as I believe that along with attributes of a good citizen and worker, pupils reap personal benefits from schools as well.

Schools are equipping students with the fundamental skills as well as inculcate a spirit of discipline in them in order to make them as responsible members of the society. Providing them traits such as language acquisition, computer skills, knowledge, learners can develop themselves as well as can secure appropriate employment. Also, discipline, which is incorporated among pupils in the school time, plays a pivotal role to nourish them as an ideal citizen. Wearing school uniforms, respect others, inter-mingle with other students, and respect everyone are to name just a few characteristics which children develop during school days to be a good citizen. Hence, school act as a foundation stone in a child's life.

I think extra curricular activities held at schools assist students in their personal lives. Schools provide training for activities like art and craft, music, sports along with curriculum and with these activities students can identify their talent and pursue their career in respected fields. Well-known celebrities, artists, musicians and sportsmen have hone their skills in the school time and then they took their talent to the next level. Virat Kohli, a prominent cricketer of Indian team, is a good paradigm of this who explored his talent in inter-school tournament then worked hard and now he is a shinning star of Indian cricket association. Therefore, it is apparent that schools are not only converting students to professionals or good citizens but also helping them to know their own interest and pursue it as a career.

In conclusion, it could be reiterated that besides the advantages for future career prospects and society, schools are also giving pupils chance to grow and nurture their talent.