An increasing number of people now prefer to go shopping in supermarkets rather than small shops and local markets. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been noticed in recent times that people choose supermarkets over small shops and markets in the vicinity for shopping. I believe though shopping in supermarkets offers advantage of less time consumption, the disadvantage of fall in revenue of local business cannot be overlooked.

Shopping in the supermarket is beneficial than shops in local markets in terms of time saving. Everything, from clothes to grocery and home appliances to cosmetics, can be obtained from the shopping malls. Wall Mart is good paradigm of this where all the utilities can be purchased under a single roof, buyers need not to roam here and there for buying various products. They can, substantially, spare their plenty of time which can be utilized in other productive works. In contrast, in the small shops and markets, users are bound to visit at different shops for buying products for their day-to-day affairs.

Inclination of locals towards supermarkets is undoubtedly affecting local vendors negatively. Business of the native shopkeepers has been dwindled drastically which is cause of lock down several outlets. Hence, they are unemployed as well as suffering to make both ends meet. In my hometown, this year sales of local vendors fell drastically by 50% and many locals shops has been observed close. On the other hand, Big bazaar, a well known shopping mall, accounted ever increase in sales. Thus, it is apparent how supermarkets are affecting adversely to the local shops and markets.

In conclusion, despite the benefit of time to people by shopping in supermarket, drawback of reduced sales as well as shutting down of local business are too dire to ignore.