Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. Do you agree?

In recent years, the discussion on the rational length of holidays has been gaining a great deal of attention in different organizations throughout the world. Most importantly, the issue has become a bone of contention among the employers regarding the relationship of duration of vacation with the productivity among the workforce. While some people may deny with the fact, I strongly agree that it will boost up the outcomes of the manpower of any company undoubtedly.

To begin with, nowadays it is becoming a challenge to maintain the work-life balance properly, and undeniably, longer vacation will ensure more attachment with the family members. This will ultimately help to redress the balance of gap among the family members. Multinational companies, for example, has better holiday policy for their employees that results in far better outcomes in achieving the company goal than the local companies. Moreover, the increased number of holidays will help any stressed out an employee to be a rejuvenated. As a result, once he gets back to the office again, will be able to deliver his best to the organization. This has also been evident in some controlled studies done at Harvard University, which reported that doubling the duration of holidays results in quadrupled performance of the workforce. Furthermore, having more number of days as vacation, anyone can do a lot at their house which usually employees entitled with shorter holidays cannot achieve.

Despite several advantages from both employee and employer perspective, few organizations may think that it will just reduce the man-hour for their companies. However, in a true sense, those companies cannot do well with their demotivated personnel. This ultimately may bring negative growth for those companies in the long run.

All things considered, there must be an appropriate length of holidays for any organization so that the employees may remain motivated regarding their workplace. Personally, I believe that spending the whole week for the office does not make any sense, rather, a better breathing space must be given by the authorities to increase productivity at the organization level and loyalty and motivation at the workforce level.