Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

Generally, recruiters enquire the candidates about their favourite pastime and marital status while they recruit new employees. Is this information really necessary? In my opinion, these details help employers in knowing the candidates much better in a more meaningful way. This essay will discuss both the aspect and provide reasons why personal information is useful to the respective people.

Few say that taking information like timepass activities or marital status from the employees does not make any difference, as finally, they will not add any value to the organization. Moreover, they contend that at last performance of an individual alone matters to the organization and neither personal pursuits nor the family details. Although, individual performances matters, I refute with the view that this information does not contribute any useful thing to the companies.

Employers extract personal details from the interviewees for various reasons. Firstly, obtaining details of interest and hobbies will aid management in analysing the candidate's interpersonal skills, socializing skills and other personal traits. For example, a person who is more interested in following and playing cricket or football would probably be a good team player. Secondly, information as to whether the employee is married or unmarried help the employers to assess the employee's flexibility with regards to relocations and his personal responsibilities, as normally unmarried person, will be more flexible for location shifts in comparison.

In conclusion, though the performance of an individual does matters as others argue, details of an employees relating to his or her extra-curricular activities and if they are married or unmarried is useful to the companies in many ways, because unless an organization knows about its employees personal information, it cannot be able to provide him or her a better place to work in order to retain good talents. Hence, to do that personal information is rather important to them.