Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

When a candidate applies for a job he is been interviewed by the interviewer who is either a HR or the Employer. During the interview he is asked various questions so that the employer is confident that the candidate is suitable for the job. However, some interviewers do ask the candidate sensitive information, for example if the candidate is single or married, what religion he belong to. Some claim that asking such type of sensitive question is not correct as it can be misused.

Employers do ask for personal information for numerous reasons. Firstly instead of directly asking the candidate question relating to his job, the HR do ask personal question to make the applicant comfortable. For instance during an interview the applicant was so nervous and due to this he was not able to answer the interviewer. The interviewer asked him about his hobbies and talent, which the candidate kept on talking, this calmed him down. Later after the candidate was comfortable answering, they asked him question pertaining to his field. Secondly, form personal information only many employers get to know the character of a person or if he is fit for the job and how long will he continue in the firm. For example, a female applicant was being interviewed for a position in the call center, which was a night shift job. The HR asked her if she was married and has children. Asking such type of question the HR will definitely know if the candidate is seeking for a temporary job or a full time job. This helps the selector to shortlist the candidates.

Some people are of the opinion that this can be misused. For instance, by asking the type of religion, caste or place of origin, some interviewer can get partial with the candidate. For example deserving candidate despite of good academic record, are not absorbed in the organisation because the interviewer prefer hiring candidates from his own locality or district. Similarly, some male employers intentionally ask young females who have come for interview about their family background. These female being in desperation for getting the job tends to share their personal information. This information are being misused by the employer or the male HR.

To recapitulate, I feel that the merits in asking personal question outweigh the demerits as by asking personal question the recruiter can find the deserving candidate for the job. However, recruiter also need to take precaution, not to leak out this sensitive information as it is against the corporate law.