Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information maybe relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often asked by employers about the hobbies and personal information of the job applicants. Some may feel it be of relevance and great use while others don't. In my opinion, this data should not be overlooked as it may produce quality results. In this essay, both the views and how getting to know these factors may produce effective results would be discussed.

Knowing the employees on personal grounds may rather be irrelevant because the workplace has to be strictly dealt with professionally. Not only the workplace should focus on just the professional factors of the employee but also should not allow any hindrance in the work due to personal reasons. For example, a recent survey conducted by the New York Times concluded that fifty-five percent of the top companies prefer dealing with just the qualities of the workers such as logical skills, aptitude, IQ and reasoning ability yielding enhanced throughput and shooted earnings. If the employee is stripped-off from the personal part of life during office hours, no obstruction and destruction could be experienced and the complete focus would be steered on the work.

Nonetheless, knowing the newcomers on personal factors might help in striking better management, thus producing quality output. Not only does it helps in analysing the job applicants better but also helps in making a decision as to whether the person is the right fit for the job or not. Also, many companies such as Accenture have strict rules for its workforce of not getting involved with their co-workers of the same project. The sole purpose of imposing this rule is to avoid any personal preference that may be paid heed to while promotions. Thus, enabling them to stress out this rule more if the marital status of the applicant is known, hence helping in transparent promotions.

In conclusion, working only on a professional basis may seem to be inhuman as all resources should have a balanced work and personal life which might be better managed if the personal information of the employees are paid attention to and hence helping in the determination of the right fit for the job.