Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal questions, such as hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single, some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Few individuals support the idea to include questions regarding personal life in an interview would be resourceful and worthy to be asked by organizations conducting those interviews, however, there are some who believes otherwise. In my view, including questions related to an individual's daily life is as significant as other academic questions because it allows the interviewers to assess the soft skills of that person.

On one hand, the most compelling reason to support this kind of questions in the interview is that it gives a bigger picture to the company to evaluate the candidate on inter-personal skills as well. Nowadays, companies prefer people with more soft skills than academic skills because working in teams and dealing with all kinds of people in daily routine would require skills such as patience and adequate communication. To illustrate, an employee with tech-savvy nature would serve as a multi-skilled employee which could help in IT matters as well. Without asking questions to know liking and disliking, the employer would not be able to find these skills.

On the other hand, some people would argue that questions related to personality would not represent the proper view of the factors, such as education and experience with the related field, important for hiring. Some technical jobs require a specific set of skills from the employee, in this case, focusing more on duties related question would undoubtedly benefit the company. Another reason to oppose the idea of the personal question is that there are few people who feel offended when questions related to their private life are asked during the interview. They are not comfortable in sharing such information. For instance, asking the marital status of a candidate during the interview might make the employee angry and by that company might lose a talented employee.

To conclude, questions to know character-based skills of an employee should be a part of any efficient interview but to keep it safe, a consent before asking such private questions should be taken from employees.