Essay topics: Many employers are employing people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that good social skills is as important as good qualifications to succeed in job?

Firms, nowadays, hire people who not only possess qualifications required for a job, but also the interpersonal skills. I believe that social skills play a vital role in accomplishing a certain targets or can help employees to exceed expectations.

To begin with, to succeed in certain industries it is required to have certain interpersonal skills such as effective communication and a team player. The pilot and air traffic controller, who guides the pilot, for instance, are required to communicate effectively with one another otherwise pilot will not able to get directions properly or the controller may not able to communicate his message properly. Besides this, the software engineers often work in big teams in order to develop software, if they are not compatible with other team members, they may not be able to meet the deadlines as conflict may arise among them.

On the other hand, there are some jobs in manufacturing industries which do not require any specific social skills to meet the expectations; however, having those skills may increase the chance of promotion or have good relations with their boss. For instance, while working in a factory where I was supposed to operate machinery, in which the social skills do not play any role, I found that one of my peers, who was junior to me got early promotion just because of his good relations with the manager as he had excellent communication skills.

In conclusion, in certain kinds of industries, it is not possible to survive without interpersonal skills while others do not require any social skills; however, it always helps to excel in the career no matter in which field you are working.