The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Supermarkets these days are stocked with food items from different nations. It is often argued that people should consume the food grown locally in order to protect the environment and to the support local economy, while others disagree. I believe that the benefits of buying local food clearly outweigh drawbacks.

Admittedly there are some negative effects of buying food from local markets. The people will be left out with fewer choices since it is impossible to grow all kinds of food items locally. In the absence of imported eatable items, in India, for instance, such as kiwi, cheery and fig, people will not able to enjoy them anymore. Besides this, it will have an adverse impact on international trade as many firms will run out of business. Not only transportation firms, which are responsible for transferring fresh fruits and packed food from one continent to another but also the middlemen, who are responsible for stocking these items, may become bankrupt.

Despite the disadvantages above, I believe that the advantages outweigh them. It will help to decrease the carbon footprint by saving the fuel burnt by ferries and trucks to transport goods from one country to another. Adding to this, most of the imported food items, especially canned or packed items, use plastic as primary packaging material, which is the primary factor of pollution globally. Another benefit is that citizens will be eating fresh food items. Obesity is the most common among children, which is not because of eating more food but because of having sugary and preserve meals. In order to preserve the eatable for a long duration, sugar and preservatives are used. Thus, if people boycott these food items, they may have access to healthy and fresh food.

In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts of buying food locally, I opine that the positive impacts like decreasing deterioration environment and access to healthy food outweigh them.