Even though globalization affects the world’s economies in a positive way, its negative side should not be forgotten. Discuss.

Globalization is a comparatively newer trend and it has brought countless benefits to our modern life. The brighter side of globalization reduces the disparity and distance between countries around the world whereas the darker side also needs assessment carefully.

First of all, globalization has greatly influenced the world's economy in many positive ways. Most of the businesses are becoming increasingly international. Globalization allows a free trade practice. With the unlimited export of goods, the market of a country will get larger. The unlimited import will also allow citizens to have access to imported products. Furthermore, with foreign investments in a country, a rise in employment will follow. No one can deny that the positive aspects of globalization will help the countries' economy to prosper. Moreover, if more people will be employed, this could result in a low poverty rate in the developing countries, like the Philippines.

On the other end of the spectrum, globalization may also harm business industry of other countries that cannot compete for as much versus the multinational companies. Thus, small business and medium scale establishments may have to close down. As a result, globalization can also lead to unemployment and exploitation. Followed by this, other companies may move to other countries where labour is cheap. Because of the globalization, the traditional way of life and simplicity are getting washed away and people in developing countries are mimicking the western cultures which might lead to a devastating situation on a countries heritage and tradition. The locally made products are being replaced by the international brands and that has a very negative and long-term effect on a countries business growth.

In conclusion, I believe that globalization as a concept has noble intentions and is beneficial to countries that have developed fully and are ready to compete in the world market. Nevertheless, governments and companies should use a fair approach by taking appropriate steps for the country to become ready and to engage in a free trade economy around the world.