Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for poverty? What can we do to help the poor?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Poverty is a major dilemma as it is faced by both the developing and developed world, however, this is more serious in third world nations. This can be attributed to many factors and there can be certain solutions to tackle poor conditions promptly.

The population which is devoid of the basic necessities of life lacks knowledge, as mostly they do not know how to earn money. This illiteracy leads to lack of job opportunities for the most less privileged people. For instance, in South Asia the illiteracy rate is the highest when compared to the rich countries, which results in unemployment or jobs with minimum wages, causing a direct decline in income. In addition, overpopulation is another important leading factor towards the indigence because this directly affects the sources of income for most individuals. This can cause a decline in educational slots for the people of a nation and thus illiteracy prevails, which decreases earning options for the population. Another effect of this is that it also results in poor health conditions and therefore, more scarcity for these people.

Nevertheless, there are certain drastic measures which can be taken by both the government and humans to overcome this. One of them is to increase spending of the country's budget on education. As this will lead to more facilities to teach people, it will boost literacy in the third world nations. Also, in the long term, this policy can cause a surge in opportunities to employ them because of better knowledge. Governments should also adopt a policy of discouraging overpopulation by promoting campaigns against this. In this way, people can better understand the drawbacks of the increased populace burden on an individual and national level.

Having discussed reasons and solutions to overcome poverty, it is clear that education plays a vital role in solving this problem. Moreover, governments should take measures along with individuals to slow population growth rate as it will increase sources towards better conditions to live.