Every minute, every day, people suffer and lives are lost needlessly because of a lack of safe water and sanitation. The Population is being viewed as the real problem and controlling birth rates should totally address the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Potable water and proper sewage disposal are few of the basic needs of any human in this world. Unfortunately, most people doesn’t have access to drinkable water and clean surroundings which is resulting in human mortalities. Some would argue that this shortage is due to over population and the ultimate solution would be to control human births. I believe that controlling the birth rates may have solve the issue to some extent but, cannot be the holistic solution.

Firstly, though water is abundant on our planet, only a small portion of it is safe to drink or to cook food, and out of that small portion, humans waste a lot for no reason. For instance, the Metropolitan Authority of Boston revealed a shocking truth that more than half of the water they supply to the residential areas goes to waste. Secondly, more people migrate to cities to find employment every year which results in inadequate availability of sewage facilities to all the residents in such densely populated areas only. As we can see, the increase in population may be one of the contributors for the shortage of clean water and inadequate sewage disposal facilities, but cannot be the sole reason.

To continue, government authorities should focus on other ways to combat the problem besides controlling the rate of births. They need to create awareness among the public to reduce water wastage and to use waste disposal facilities sensibly. For example, state government of Nebraska has recently announced that the water consumption in their state has reduced by 25 percent and unwanted debris found in the sewage pipes decreased by almost 70 percent.

In summary, birth control could be one of the solutions to counter the shortage of clean water and to provide better sanitation to people in this world but, could not be the ultimate solution.