Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world is composed of various countries and each country represents the different culture and uses various languages. Some people opine that nowadays, with a continuous annual extinction of languages, life has become convenient whereas others hold the notion that language represents a tradition and its significance shouldn’t be demolished. In my opinion, few languages have caused an ease in life and made survival effortless in this globalized era. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints.

Limitation of languages has resulted in many advantages. First and foremost, it is very easy to communicate with fewer languages. For example, in large multinational companies, generally employees communicate in the English language, most of the workers are proficient in this universal language, thus results in effective interaction. Moreover, it’s easy to be proficient in lesser language rather than learning basics of various languages. Therefore, lesser languages have played a pivotal role in global connection and have increased various opportunities in many aspects.

On the flip side, with modernization, the importance of local language and culture is getting affected. For instance, in developing countries like India, school curriculum is giving importance to English language and students are forgetting their local language and native culture. Thus, life has become easier but the importance of rich local heritage is getting vanished.

To recapitulate, I strongly believe that the positive outcomes of lesser languages have outweighed the negative consequences. However, a government of each country should also make individual efforts by promoting their rich heritage, so that the importance of local language remains intact.