Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many languages are on the verge of extinction annually.It is believed as a positive change by some as they opine that having few languages will be beneficial to the whole world. I totally disagree with this fact as I am Indian and I am aware of the different culture of different regions and its significance to the local people. This essay will discuss the importance of the language in respect to one’s culture and society secondly , the difficulty in implementing few languages as a compulsory medium of communication , followed by a reasoned conclusion.

A language is not only spoken words but it also reflects one’s culture and traditions. It is a gift provided to generations from the ancestors that needs to be preserved and not killed. For instance, Sanskrit language is known as mother of all languages is renowned in India and many languages have been developed from it. Holy books and ancient history were written in this language. Despite this, English has become an important language for Indian people , as many feel it makes life easier to communicate with the world.

Communicating by using only few languages, such as English and Hindi, you distinguish yourself from others. Majority of the people in the world are still trying to learn English since years, yet they are unsuccessful in doing so. Countries like China and Korea are trying hard to grasp English and communicate in their business , but still they haven’t learned fully. However , English is a most commonly used language for business across the world and have encouraged more and more countries to adopt it to overcome the competitive environment.

In conclusion , although few commonly used languages help to make life simpler, but this should not be at the stake of country’s culture and values to get extinct.