The exposure of international media such as films, TV and magazines has impacts on local culture. What do you think of the impacts have been? Do you agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that many influences on cultural identity stem from the media globalization such as films, TV, and magazines. While I accept that there are some drawbacks of the widespread media coverage, it is not to say that it has no redeeming feature.

The more popular the media gains, the more influential it becomes. Global media has fundamentally changed not only people’s ingrained prejudice against women but also makes female role more recognized culturally. In some undeveloped nations which discriminate the basis of gender , were it not for the penetration of the television and magazines about female power, women would not be able to break the glass ceiling and make their job prospects brighter. However, the exposure of the media can menace the identity of the local community. Because of the prevalent use of English and other languages in the magazines and films, the locals abandon their mother tongue to better adapt to the world, which undermines their own vernacular

On the one hand, the ubiquity of the media can be extremely positive. It is common knowledge that the mass media has bridged the gender in the community, which enables women to achieve success in life like their male counterparts. For instance, Ellen’s show is an exemplary example to illustrate that women can become the host of a TV show, which was men’s exclusive domain. On the other hand, the media poses a threat to the multicultural society and cultural mosaic. There is an ample evidence suggesting that the newspapers and television have homogenized the world by encouraging people to use only English and adopt the Western lifestyles.

In conclusion, there are many impacts of the media on the local culture and the advantages and the disadvantages of the exposure are equally significant.