Formal examinations have become the most common way of assessing a student’s performance.

Is it a positive or negative development in your view?

Around the world, an increasing number of children and adults have access to education, which usually involves formal assessments. In most settings, examinations have become the most widely used method. Despite recognizing that these type of exams are necessary, I feel that this is not a positive development.

Although formal exams play an important role in informing teachers and educational institutes about student progress, they often put excessive pressure on learners. In China, for instance, a student’s score on their final exams has enormous implications for their future studies and career prospects. As a result, many falters under the pressure or suffer overwhelming anxiety, which can have a devastating impact on their mental health as well as their tertiary opportunities. Clearly, these kinds of high-stakes testing are not only stressful but also favors one type of learner; those who thrive in exam conditions.

This unfairness is another key reason why exam-focused education is a negative development. Many students find a time-limited and usually written exam does not give them enough scope to demonstrate their understanding and ideas related to the course they are taking. Indeed, relying on formal tests, particularly in a university context, means the omission or infrequent use of other equally valid ways of testing student’s abilities and knowledge. Group presentations, continuous course evaluations, and presentations are just a few alternatives that could be employed. Such methods allow students to demonstrate the progress they are making and can encourage different ways of learning, which ultimately results in a fairer outcome.

In conclusion, the increasing reliance on formal examinations as a means of assessment is a worrying trend. There are so many other, and often better, ways of finding out how students are doing cooperative working and ongoing evaluation being two of them.