Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main resources in many nations, but in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Non-renewable energy sources like petrol, diesel, oil and many more are the prime fuels on which many countries are dependent on various functions including electricity generation in the power plants. However, some nations have been promoting the utilization of renewable energy sources such as solar and wind energy. It has both pros and cons. Definitely, I think it is a positive development because it has become more essential to divert our focus from fossil fuels due to many reasons.

Opponents of non-renewable energy resources cite a host of disadvantages. Oil, natural gas and coals are often costly to use. Because they are not available directly in nature; they are derived from post-processing of crude oil. In addition, their consumption emits many toxic gases like Nox and Sox in the environment. As a consequence, many cities in India, for example, Delhi and Mumbai have the lowest air quality, which has affected their locals' life. Moreover, their limited amount of resources have disturbed many homes' monthly budget as they are paying more and more for such fuels. Therefore, a few continents like India and Netherland are exploring other ways of energy.

On the other hand, renewable energy sources have many benefits. Firstly, the operating cost is nearer to zero. if someone has a few acres of infertile land and he or she installs a series of solar panels there, then he can generate a huge amount of electricity free of cost, and even, it can be sold to any electricity providers at an impressive price. Secondly and most importantly, they are completely pollution-free and more durable. Wind farms in the western region of Gujarat, India, for instance, wherein a thousand number of wind-fans have been installed which are producing zero-cost and non-pollutive energy since last five decades. So, search valid points encourage many nations to promote these alternative energy resources.

In conclusion, it is the right time to start the use of such energy sources, which are not only economical but also environment-friendly as well as more productive than non-renewable energy sources. Personally, I believe that it is a positive development as many countries have seen their fruitful outcomes.