Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are used in many countries. But in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, has been encouraged. Is this trend a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, some countries have been shifting from non-renewable sources of energy to alternative ones. In my opinion, this is a positive development, because the conventional sources are limited and usage of them is not environment-friendly.

On the one hand, fossil fuels take millions of years to form and if people keep using them, they will finally run-out. Thus, it is feasible that future generations will stay without reliable resources of energy such as gas, oil and coal. Meanwhile, harnessing wind and solar power, and switching to it, let modern society to frozen natural deposits of non-renewable resources and save them for the future. To illustrate, power of wind, sun or waves are almost limitless and will exist until the world ends.

On the other hand, extracting and burning fossil fuels emits a significant amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which leads to the greenhouse effect and global warming. In addition, burning coal and gas releases various fumes that are harmful for people's breathing systems and can cause respiratory problems in humans. For instance, my close friend has severe asthma and doctors recommended him to move to the countryside as there is less exhaust fumes into the atmosphere. Since he has moved out of the city where all the vehicles are working on fossil fuel, his breathing issue rapidly improved.

In conclusion, I think that using alternative sources of energy is advantageous in terms of ecology and steady supply in the future.