The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to moving goods across borders, it is often argued that whether doing trade without any cost is imperative for the rise in economy or is it going to be detrimental for local businesses. In my impression, global trade ought not to be avoided and must be free from any restrictions.

To initiate, those who support the expansion of global free trade claim that economies grow faster when they can specialize in just a few industries in which they have a strong advantage. As a result, each region or country produces something of value to the world economy. For example, East Asia manufactures electronic goods, the Middle East exports energy, and the EU produces luxury items. Free trade proponents claim that dependence on global trade aids to strengthen international cooperation and prevent wars.

Meanwhile, opponents of free trade - sometimes called ‘protectionists’ - claim that the unrestricted movement of goods and services can causes damage to local communities. This is because, jobs are lost when it becomes cheaper to import a product than to produce it domestically. They also argue that the vast distances traveled by vital resources: food, oil, and consumer goods is harming the environment and making our lives unsustainable. Protectionists are in favor of tighter controls on the movement of goods and services in order to protect jobs and livelihoods.

In conclusion, while there are convincing arguments on both sides of the debate, a return to protectionist policies would surely be a mistake. I believe that global trade is inevitable and should not be restricted. It is no longer realistic for nations to source all of their energy, food, and manufactured goods within their own borders.