Due to poorer countries experiencing a ‘brain drain’ they are seeing many professionals, such as doctors and teachers, leaving to work in more developed countries. What problems do this cause? What solutions can be suggested to deal with this situation?

In many developing countries, rising influx of skilled academics leaving in search of better pay; increased socioeconomic benefits, and the chance to earn citizenship in a developed country. This essay will examine the impact this has had on the more poverty stricken countries and suggest how this situation could be improved.

To initiate with problems, the foremost with skilled professionals, such as doctors and teachers leaving is that it deprives the country of people who are necessary to its survival. In other words, a shortage of doctors in hospitals could lead to them being severely understaffed, even though they have the trained doctors and nurses who are local and willing to work. In addition, some academic institutions can also suffer, with a dearth of skilled teachers in highly desirable subjects: maths, science and languages. Many a professional desires better remuneration and working conditions, leaving in search of a better lifestyle. For example, a study from England University showed that in London in 2014, 75% of graduates had applied to work in the UK and the USA.

A possible solution to this problem is for skilled professionals to enter into mandatory service in their origin country, before being able to migrate. To be more precise, those who earn their qualifications from state universities ought to work in service to their country for a set amount of time, even though they are ready for the wider workplace. This would address the shortage of workers in hospitals and schools, meanwhile gaining experience, in order to give something back to their community and country. For instance, in Romania, it is common practice for graduates from state-funded university courses to work in areas where their services are needed for a minimum of two years before they are able to apply to work abroad.

Summing up, with the rising demand for nurses, doctors and teachers in economically rich countries such as the UK, more and more people are leaving their poor origin countries in search of better pay, working conditions and benefits. It is, therefore, imperative for governments to put appropriate schemes into place, with mandatory service for state-funded degree holders.