Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and the government should encourage businesses to move from cities to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact, housing and traffic congestion issues are becoming bane to citizens living in large urban areas, there is an argument that the government ought to persuade companies to relocate to the countryside. Apparently, the advantages of this far outweigh the downsides owing to housing and business overheads are more affordable and there is less traffic problems.

To commence with the drawbacks, there are some to relocating businesses and companies to rural areas. One of these is that many employees have settled with their families and own their own homes. Moving to a rural area would uproot them and their families, in addition, they may not be suited to life in the country so this could cause stress and motivation issues. To illustrate this, The Tribune newspaper carried out a survey in 2014 of employees who were transferred to new offices in small towns and rural locations. 58% of them said they were unhappy with the move and had trouble settling down.

Despite these downsides, I believe that the advantages of moving out of big cities far outweigh the disadvantages. One of these is that housing is larger and much more affordable. For instance, a small apartment in Sydney costs three times that of a large apartment in Mount Gambier which is in a very rural location in Australia. Company overheads are also far more cost-effective outside of cities. An office space 15 miles out of Sydney tends to be much bigger and overall rental costs are considerably lower than that of Sydney. Another obvious benefit is that traffic congestion is no longer an issue in rural areas or villages.

In conclusion, even though there may be downsides to companies moving out of cities, I think that relocating to the countryside carries more advantages because of cost-effective housing and business rents are much lower.