Due to poorer countries experiencing a brain drain they are seeing many professionals such as doctors and teachers leaving to work in more developed countries What problems do this cause What solutions can be suggested to deal with this situation

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in skilled immigration, or brain drain to developed nations for pursuing specialized research, better employment opportunities and enhanced quality of life. This essay will discuss the reasons why developing nations are observing an outflow of its talent-rich professional pool and explore solutions to reduce this deleterious trend.

To begin with, one strong argument in favour of the occurrence of brain drain is the unavailability of world-class infrastructure in emerging countries for satisfying the needs of these professionals. Another reason is the disparity between the remuneration of professionals in developing and developed nations. Skilled professionals do not feel adequately compensated, and therefore try to look for opportunities abroad. Therefore, they migrate to wealthy nations, which leads to a precarious situation for these under-developed countries, as they lose out on necessary talent severely impacting their development and future.

However, several solutions can be implemented to dissuade skilled labour from migrating. Firstly, the government should provide monetary assistance to modernise the infrastructure facilities across the country. Equipping hospitals with modern state-of-the-art devices, for instance, will not only restrain doctors from migrating but will also enhance the medical facilities available to the public. In addition, the government should increase the wages of skilled professions at par with global standards to retain talent. While the government does its part to create a conducive environment for workers, the public should be inspired to serve for the betterment of one's own country above all.

To conclude, despite the rise in brain drain cases, increasing infrastructure facilities and adequate compensation will help reduce this phenomenon substantially. In my opinion, the concerted effort of the government and patriotic public will enable a country to retain its talent.