Violence in the media promotes violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous rise in violence globally which are being captured by media outlets. While some people believe that it is the duty of media businesses to cover such violence, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why disturbing content published by media have a detrimental impact on society.

To begin with, one strong argument in favour of media industries covering violent crimes including rapes, murder and war-crimes is based on their job to disseminate accurate information without any bias. People feel these leads to a vigilant citizen who is aware of their surroundings and thus, can make informed decisions. For example, although rapes in India are gruesome and often fatal, extensive reporting has caused severe public outrage and legislation for stringent punishment to be passed. As a result, the government and media have used the grave consequences to dissuade people from committing crimes.

However, several arguments support the censoring of media content in the public domain as it negatively impacts society, especially children. Firstly, watching such disturbing content has a deleterious effect on a child's psychological development, and in some cases, influences them to imitate. For instance, movies which glorify an act of killing may influence a child to think that it is morally correct to commit crimes. In addition, several crimes take cues from movies and past-crimes, which beats the very purpose of making movies or reporting the news without prejudice. Therefore, the government mandates media companies to show popups in Internet or televisions requiring viewer discretion.

To conclude, despite violence being portrayed in media extensively, it is vital to censor disturbing content before disseminating them. In my opinion, since violence negatively impacts humans psychic, the government should actively monitor it to curb its harmful impacts.