Do you think consumers should be held responsible for their poor nutritional choices, or do food manufacturers need to be more honest about the potential dangers involved in eating certain foods which are high in salt, sugar and fat?

In recent years, there has been a drastic increase in the manufacture of processed foods that are unhealthy for public consumption, yet remain extremely popular. While some believe that consuming such items regularly are detrimental to the health of an individual, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why manufacturers need to be held accountable for its proliferation.

To begin with, one strong argument by owners of businesses that deal with the production of edible items rich in salt and saturated fat is that a detailed nutritional table is already printed on each packaged item. Since they have already provided the figures, they assume that the customer makes a conscious decision while purchasing such items. For example, Lays, a global chips manufacturer claims that their packet cover clearly outlines the quantity of salt and other substances. In addition, businesses feel that since they have adequate approvals from the government agencies for producing these items, they are not breaking any law.

However, there are several arguments in favour of those that claim these businesses are not sufficiently honest while disclosing its harmful effects on prolonged consumption. Research suggests that increased reliance on packaged foods have a negative effect on the overall growth of a child. For instance, children relying on fast-food are more prone to cardiovascular diseases and are more likely to be obese. Moreover, critics point out that the commercials run by these companies are solely to attract more unaware customers, whereas they ignore presenting the truly damaging effects.

To conclude, despite several food manufacturers claiming that they represent the nutritional benefits adequately, they fail to highlight the deleterious impact of certain substances. In my opinion, they should be held accountable and laws need to enacted that mandates them to disclose relevant nutritional details.