Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a drastic rise in environmental pollution levels. While some argue that each individual can alter their lifestyle to limit pollution, others claim that it is the responsibility of the government to introduce legislation to control this. This essay will discuss the reasons why the government can effectively manage this growing concern.

To begin with, one of the arguments in favour of individuals leading the change is that, ultimately it is their actions that lead to deleterious effects on the environment. Burning of garbage, excessive use of plastics, reliance on chemicals for farming are some of the contributors to pollution. A change in the mindset of individuals is of paramount importance. For example, if people can abolish single-use plastics for paper or jute packets, it will eliminate the use of non-biodegradable plastics. Moreover, utilizing public transport will reduce vehicular pollution.

However, only the government can bring sustainable changes that reduce pollution. They have adequate resources available at their disposal to minimize the sources of pollution. Since industries are the major contributors to pollution, stringent laws that limit the amount of industrial effluents and harmful gases should be brought. For instance, reliance on clean energy to power a city rather than coal-powered power plants will reduce air pollution. Not only can they bring new policies, but also make it mandatory for each individual to adhere to them strictly or risk being penalised.

To conclude, despite measures taken by individuals to control pollution, only the government can bring a significant reduction in their levels due to the sheer magnitude of their influence. In my opinion, they should bring effective regulations and enforce them in order to conserve life on Earth by assuaging environmental concerns.