Polygamy has increased widely in recent years. What solutions can you bring forward to decrease this issue?

In recent years, the practice of polygamy has grown manifold in both developing and developed nations. While some people believe that it is an acceptable consequence of the modern complex relationships, others consider this as a deleterious influence. This essay will discuss why this practice is prevalent today and explicate solutions to alleviate this issue.

To begin with, one strong argument for the practice of polygamy being widely observed is the transition from a conservative to a liberal attitude in mature societies. Traditionally, second marriages were considered as either illegal or a social embarrassment. For example, unsuccessful couples in India, avoided another marriage citing factors such as social stigma and stereotyping. Consequently, several eminent personalities hold a pragmatic view and consider polygamy as normal, influencing people to imitate them, which has ultimately resulted in an overwhelming increase in polygamy cases internationally.

However, there are several solutions to limit the proliferation of polygamy incidents. Firstly, society must reorient its liberal ideology and recommend counselling and expert advice to sort out marriage differences rather than advocating immediate legal separation. Moreover, religious institutions should encourage having single-partners for life, which will reduce polygamy significantly. For instance, if preachers of all major religion can condemn polygamy, it will result in a dramatic reduction. The government can introduce litigation making polygamy illegal, which will dissuade young couples from taking the extreme step of dissolving one's marriage.

To conclude, although polygamy is rising sharply, society must advance a mentality shift to discourage individuals from marrying again. In my opinion, advocating the importance of single marriage and resolving marriage differences amicably will reduce this phenomenon.