Many people think that the place you were born affects your success in later life. What is your opinion about the relevance of one’s place of birth upon future success?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in successful people originating from developed nations. While some people believe that citizens of wealthy and technologically advanced nations are naturally poised to be provided with numerous opportunities, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why these two are inexorably linked.

To begin with, one strong argument for those that believe successful people have no dependence on the country of their origin is that they claim that other factors like hard work, discipline, risk-taking ability and consistent efforts play an even more pivotal role. For instance, Usain Bolt, who is a Jamaican athlete, was born in a relatively poor country, but that did not dissuade him from being the best sprinter in the world. Moreover, the place of birth can only provide the necessary means to survive and exposure to the outside world but does not guarantee a promising career.

However, there are several arguments in favour of one's birthplace being essential for success. They not only provide favourable policies and facilities but also work actively to shape an individual's future. Countries like China, for instance, have special schools designed to identify young talent and provide the necessary support to transform them into international level sports stars. Several talented sportsmen opt-out as they are unable to support their families financially during their early careers. In addition, Western countries have several prominent academic institutions that churn out the best scientists, researchers and professionals every year.

To conclude, despite several factors being responsible towards an individual's successful life, the place of origin plays a cardinal part by providing facilities to nurture talent from an early age. In my opinion, the place of origin is one of the key determiners of a promising career.