Positive And Negative Effects Of Technology Information Through Mass Media

In recent years, there has been a tremendous rise in technology-driven mass media penetration globally. While some argue that mass media has negatively impacted people, others argue that it has greatly enhanced human life. This essay will discuss both the side and provide reasons why the positive effects far outweigh those that are negative.

To begin with, one of the main arguments supporting the negative effect is that of fake news. Since electronic devices capable of spreading information is now available with everyone, any miscreant can easily disseminate misleading information to the public domain. For instance, distorted information is being circulated in order to alter the public perception by rival political parties. Availability of free information on the internet has caused several print media businesses to shut down owing to decreasing revenues. Thus, technology innovations have had a deleterious effect to an extent.

However, there are several arguments in favour of the use of technology to spread information in real-time. Whenever an event or important news is published, it reaches people worldwide instantly. Mass media which was earlier limited to print media is now available on several gadgets such as mobile phones, laptops and other connected devices. For instance, a person from a geographically distant country gets updated at the same time as an individual from where the event occurred. As a result, people are more aware of happenings across the world, which enables them to make informed decisions.

To conclude, despite some negative issues concerning fake news being spread, the overall benefits of technology in the mass media business is significant. In my opinion, future technologies will enable humans to be more aware of events globally and will improve one's quality of life.