Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In recent years, there has been a drastic rise in the human population on Earth. Although overpopulation has caused unprecedented stress on the resources of our planet, concrete steps are being undertaken to resolve this existential crisis faced by humankind. This essay will discuss the detrimental effects of this phenomenon and explore solutions to curb it.

To begin with, overpopulation has resulted in a drastic reduction of forest cover including tropical and temperate forests worldwide as they are cleared for creating residential complexes and man-made infrastructures. Consequently, this has shrunk the composition of Oxygen in our atmosphere that is essential for all life to exist. In addition, the unchecked exploitation of the mineral wealth of our planet to satisfy this burgeoning population has caused severe pollution in air, water and soil. Also, groundwater levels in various metropolitan cities have seen tremendous depletion because of unsustainable exploitation of water resources.

However, several solutions are being implemented by governments to mitigate the deleterious effects of overpopulation. Firstly, national parks and forest reserves need to be created away from human settlements to protect biodiversity and forests globally. Furthermore, stringent regulations governing the mining and exploitation of the Earth’s resources should be enforced to limit the pollution caused. Rainwater harvesting techniques, for instance, will enable residents of urban areas to store rainwater and reduce their dependence on groundwater. Family planning is essential to limit the ever-increasing population in all countries.

To conclude, while overpopulation is endangering life and elevating pollution levels, the combined effort of the government and public will help in alleviating the overall impact.