It is important that maintain and protect the beautiful building in the past, even if it is expensive for owners to do so.” what do you think of this statement? Give reasons and examples on your own experience.

In recent years, there has been a drastic rise in the neglect of old heritage buildings and monuments globally. While some believe that it is essential for inhabitants to preserve these historical heritage structures, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why conserving and improving the condition of these heritage sites are of paramount importance.

To begin with, one strong argument among those who continue to ignore the dilapidated condition of historical buildings is that the government does not provide sufficient monetary assistance. Another reason includes the unavailability of skilled labour and materials to perform repairs. For example, several old buildings in India consists of sandstone and white marble, which is either very expensive or not available. Thus, the owners find the task of performing repairs extremely challenging.

However, there are several arguments in favour of preserving these buildings of national and historic relevance, even though the owners may not be willing. Not only is the government accountable, but also the citizens are equally responsible for conserving them. Moreover, proper awareness needs to be imparted among the public to avoid destroying or damaging such buildings. In addition, the government should set aside financial assistance for the owners, or set up organizations to assist in their renovation. The Archaeological Survey of India(ASI), for instance, is responsible for maintaining such sites of national importance in India.

To conclude, despite the reluctance of some owners to assist, the government should set up adequate funds and organizations to promote the renovation and conservation of buildings that are of historical significance. In my opinion, the combined effort of citizens and the government can help preserve these beautiful buildings.