Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in environmental pollution levels globally. While some claim that it is each individual's responsibility, others argue that it is the duty of the government to take measures to counter it. This essay will discuss the reasons why the government should drive this change and alleviate the problem that will endanger the existence of life on planet Earth.

To begin with, one strong argument for individuals leading the fight against pollution is that regardless of policies, it is up to each person to implement them at the grass-root levels. For example, India has banned the use of plastics, but they continue to be used widely in markets even today. Such ignorance is either due to a lack of awareness or unavailability of suitable alternatives. Thus, if most people can abolish its usage, it will have a significant positive impact on the environment.

However, there are several arguments in favour of the government being the main entity that can lead a sustainable change. They have adequate financial, human and material resources available at its disposal to effectively implement legislation that can reduce pollution. For instance, they can allocate funds and upgrade infrastructure to reduce dependence on non-renewable sources of energy by investing in new clean energy sources. Although people can practice this at their level, it will not have a global impact. Therefore, the government should not only bring legislations but also enforce them to ensure mandatory adherence by all citizens.

To conclude, despite the contribution of each individual to assuage pollution concerns, only the government can bring about a significant change. In my opinion, stringent legislations need to be introduced in order to minimize further damage to nature.