These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a drastic shift in the mindset of professionals who work from home rather than the office room. While some people believe that working from home is highly unproductive and negatively impacts the work, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why working from home has several drawbacks.

To begin with, one strong argument for those who believe working from home is beneficial is the flexibility it offers. Professionals like software engineers and writers who predominantly have a desk job, prefer working from home as they mostly do not require their physical presence in the office. For example, application developers work on their projects individually and use online tools to communicate with external stakeholders. In addition, work from home option is convenient for single parents or those that take care of older dependents, which allows them to balance both at their convenience.

However, several arguments support the deleterious effects of working from home on the overall quality of work. Since most people have a family at home, they are more likely to get distracted due to unwanted disturbances or events. For example, if a guest comes unexpectedly, then one is forced to attend to them by compromising the work at hand temporarily. Research suggests that most people are likely to perform better in a focussed environment, where they work with co-workers towards similar objectives. Furthermore, people are prone to lethargy while working at home because there is no one to monitor.

To conclude, despite the flexibility provided by working from home, it invariably lowers an individual's productivity impacting the quality of work. In my opinion, this flexibility should only be opted on a need basis and should not be availed by all.