Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a drastic rise in the levels of environmental pollution due to unsustainable exploitation of nature for human benefit. While some argue that individuals can make a difference, others believe that only the government can effectively counter this problem. This essay will discuss both the sides and provide reasons why only the government can alleviate environmental concerns.

To begin with, one strong argument in favour of individuals driving the change is that ultimately, it is up to them to embrace lifestyle changes that lower the factors responsible for environmental pollution. For example, abolishing the use of plastics for paper or cloth-based packaging material can eliminate a major source of soil pollution. Furthermore, preferring public transport over individual cars can lessen air pollution. Therefore, individual actions can help reduce deleterious effects of pollution to an extent.

However, only at the government level can real change on a global scale be brought. Not only are they the most competent authority, but also have adequate financial and material resources at their disposal to implement stringent laws for tackling this issue head-on. For instance, proper regulations can limit pollution caused by industries, which includes harmful industrial effluents and gases. Moreover, they can make it mandatory for citizens to adhere to environment-friendly policies that can curtail the extent of pollution.

To conclude, despite efforts of each individual to manage environmental pollution, a significant change will occur only with the intervention of the government. In my opinion, nature-friendly citizens coupled with a strong government resolve will most definitely mitigate the factors causing environmental pollution.