The means of communicating in society has changed markedly over the last ten years. In your opinion, what are the positive and negative impacts of this change?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous change in the way humans communicate worldwide. Although most people argue that it has been extremely beneficial for human civilization, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why advancements in communication modes have played a pivotal role in our contemporary world.

To begin with, one strong argument among the opponents of current modes of communication is the increased malicious activity occurring using devices such as mobiles, computers and other hand-held devices. Even though these devices were designed to augment human connectivity, they are increasingly used to spread fake news, hatred, violence and uncensored content. For instance, terrorists are making use of the dark web in order to deal with arms and ammunition. In addition, there has been a sharp rise in cases related to the hacking of devices with the intent to steal information or other nefarious activities.

However, several arguments support the use of communicating devices to revolutionize human connectivity and sharing of information. Firstly, it has enabled families to remain connected irrespective of geographical distances. Earlier, for instance, people used to send letters to their loved-ones which took numerous days to reach its desired destination, whereas conventional devices enable the transfer of information in real-time. Therefore, humans are more aware of their surroundings and are capable of making informed decisions. If it was not for the Internet, social networking apps like Whatsapp, Facebook and Instagram would have never existed.

To conclude, despite issues pertaining to the malicious use of communication technologies, the benefits far outweigh the negatives. In my opinion, not only has it enabled humans to live a better social life but also provided countless employment opportunities.