It is argued that attending a full-time undergraduate degree course is less worthwhile nowadays than learning a trade, such as a builder’s labourer, plumber or electrician. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous shift among job-seekers opting for learning different trades or joining vocational training as against pursuing traditional college degrees. While some believe that more people prefer getting trained on such trades, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why having higher educational degrees are essential in today's competitive world.

To begin with, one strong argument for people preferring to opt for vocational courses on plumbing, carpentry or electronics is the easy employment opportunity available and a dearth of skilled people capable of working on these worldwide. For example, several companies are finding it difficult to hire delivery agents, and are ready to provide bonuses to attract them. Moreover, numerous professionals and students learn these in order to work part-time and earn additional income. Others learn these as a backup plan, in case they lose their safe desk jobs.

However, there are several arguments in favour of those who believe having higher education degrees is of paramount importance. Firstly, due to the breakneck speed with which technology is evolving, it would not be long before most ad-hoc jobs will be completely automated using intelligent robots. Several manufacturing plants, for instance, have installed robotic arms capable of performing far complex tasks, replacing thousands of human labourers. Therefore, youths need to equip themselves with higher degrees to weather this impending transition. Furthermore, as society considers jobs arising out of such trades to be ad-hoc and menial, most are reluctant to learn these.

To conclude, despite the rise in people learning different trades, they must attain full-time degrees to be ahead of the competition and be competent enough to handle 21st-century jobs.