Some people think that exercise is the key to health while others feel that having a balanced diet is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been a tremendous shift in the mentality of humans towards a healthy diet and lifestyle. While some people believe that exercise is of paramount importance for keeping oneself physically fit, others claim that having a balanced diet is sufficient. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why having a nutritious diet coupled with routine workouts is essential for the overall health.

To begin with, one strong argument for the advantage of exercise is that, those who exercise daily remain healthier as compared to those who do not. Research suggests a positive outcome of daily one-hour workout sessions. For example, the onset of several cardiovascular diseases like heart attack and diabetes can be delayed among those that exercise frequently. In addition, exercise enables an individual to maintain a healthy Body Mass Index(BMI), which is an indicator of one's health level. Consequently, it helps one to be mentally fit and more productive at work.

However, eating a well-balanced diet is equally important for being healthy. If a person exercises daily but feeds on junk and fast food, then the benefits decline sharply. Thus, it is essential for an individual to have a nutritious diet. For instance, those who have fibre rich leafy vegetables and fruits are known to be healthier. Another reason is that a wholesome diet is essential to maintain normal body functions. Furthermore, several experiments have found that a healthy diet helps relieve stress and ensures a sound sleep.

To conclude, the advantages of daily exercise along with a well-balanced diet is overwhelming due to the myriad health benefits it offers. In my opinion, the combination of both is essential for humans to live a healthy and disease-free life.